How much difference will an LSD really make for daily driving?

But Does It Djent?

Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
1998 BMW Z3
I'm no expert on the subject, but people are making the Z Sport out to be a squirrely death trap because of the open diff. I can see the benefit of an LSD on the track but what about daily (occasionally spirited) driving? The sport model is right within my budget but the things I've been reading about sports cars with open diffs are a little worrying to me.

Kbl911

First Name
K
Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
2017 370Z
Occupation
Wealth Management
Basically, for normal street use, you likely won't be able to discern much of a difference. There are circumstances wherein the LSD will definitely provide superior traction under acceleration but, ultimately, if you're driving (even relatively aggressively) in dry conditions on relatively level pavement, it will probably go unnoticed.

rocksandblues

First Name
bob
Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
GL450, m3, e90, GLC300, Zupra, C280
Occupation
taco bell
you will be fine if daily. You will NOT be able to get all 400 (370)hp to the road if you are being spirited or stop light racing.

In the corners the traction control will have more control than you with applying power when spirited or like a mountain road blast.

I think the concern is: If you are frustrated with not getting the speed and power out of it people will disable the nannies and traction control thinking they can better deliver and control the power.

indio22

Threads
Reaction score
Car(s)
'72 Rover S3, '85 CJ7, '98 TJ, '14 BRZ, '23 Bronco
I'm no expert on the subject, but people are making the Z Sport out to be a squirrely death trap because of the open diff. I can see the benefit of an LSD on the track but what about daily (occasionally spirited) driving? The sport model is right within my budget but the things I've been reading about sports cars with open diffs are a little worrying to me.